Reviews

Reviews about the Italian language school Il Sasso in Montepulciano. Former students' opinions, suggestions, advices about school, town and ... wine!

Maria (USA)

03.07.2019

I dont know why it took me so long to write a review about this fabulous school. My first time was in late October 2012, and Alberto told me to come back at a different time :-) Since then, I've come back 2014, 2017, 2018. Every time better than the one before. All the insegnanti here are so caring and smart, why would I go any other school? And what about Montepulciano?? Hello!! The most beautiful hill town in Tuscany, secondo me! Non vedo l'ora di ritornare!!

Bronwyn (Australia)

03.07.2019

I am still in Tuscany. It will be very difficult to leave. My fourth of five weeks as a student (yes, mature of age but young of heart) at Il Sasso, Il Scuola di Italiano a Montepulciano. By good fortune, my friend had attended last year (2018) and told me about this jewel in the heart of Tuscany. Heike, one of the very helpful team responded overnight to my enquiry and I was enrolled, after a small deposit, for beginners, June 2019. Alberto, another of the wonderful team here greeted new students with apperitifs the night before we were due to start, and standing on the balcony, looking over the rolling Tuscan landscape with sweet scented air filled with birdsong, the trip alone from Perth, Australia, was worth it! The following morning we were allocated appropriate classes to match our level of experience and confidence with the Italian language. Your head spins, but the team here are brilliant. I can mention those teachers our class has had...Gaia, Sara, Roberta and Francesca. Each brings creativity, experience, patience and humour as we mere beginners (only talking on behalf of myself here...) try to tackle and learn this melodic language. Il Sasso has a long history with foundations in helping build broader literacy in the 1980s with a standard language based on Dante. Now Il Sasso is helping people like me get a taste of 'living and speaking' local. Afterall, Tuscany has the most wonderful people, food and wine. Why wouldn't you? Sylvia is another of the team at Il Sasso who work hard to make sure your learning experience is not only in language, but with additional cultural activities, partnering with local businesses and producers accessible to students here. It's going to be difficult to leave ... but I know I will also return. Montepulciano gets into your heart. Cycling, walking, eating, wine tasting, art ... it's all here. Il Sasso helps to magnify the colour of your experience. A bonus ... all the wonderful people you meet from around the world! Thanks to the team at Il Sasso for being so unique and welcoming to stranieri!

Joy (USA)

20.06.2019

Se vuoi imparare l'italiano in Italia, non cercare oltre Il Sasso. Situato nell'incredibilmente incantevole Montepulciano, una città collinare per eccellenza in Toscana. Le classi sono piccole e suddivise per livello. Gli insegnanti sono fantastici. Dopo la scuola, ci sono attività che si possono fare localmente quasi tutti i giorni dopo le lezioni, se si sceglie (film, degustazione di vini, cucina, ecc.). Sono andato due volte e tornerò sicuramente l'anno prossimo. Basta prenotare il tuo tempo lì (un minimo di una settimana, due settimane sembra molto più tipico e molte persone sono lì per 4 - 8 settimane o più). Partire. Sarai così felice di averlo fatto.

Andreas (Svizzera)

20.06.2019

La scuola "Il Sasso" e perfettamente organizzata e gli insegnanti sono utili e molto pazienti. Mi è piaciuto tanto la dimensione e la composizione della classe. E' stato importante per me che ho potuto vivere in questa bellissima città. Non dimenticherò mai le due settimane a Montepulciano.

Anna (USA)

09.04.2019

WOW! I am so happy with my language immersion experience at Il Sasso. From the beginning, corresponding with Heike and Silvia was a delight - so easy and they are very helpful. They assisted me with making all my arrangements, including booking a driver from Rome airport to Montepulciano - so appreciated! My experience as a complete beginner has been wonderful. My teacher, Cinzia is amazing. I wish all my teachers at university and in high school had been this good. She is so encouraging, patient and knowledgeable. I seriously love her. I was originally very nervous as I have no background speaking Italian, but she immediately put me at ease and was full of positive reinforcement. It's only been one week and we have learned how to order at a cafe and restaurant, go shopping in a market, and how to make a hotel reservation, plus much more! I really appreciate the emphasis on conversational Italian. In addition, Montepulciano is lovely. The people here could not be more hospitable. The restaurants are delicious, there is a music school where you can listen to fabulous classical concerts, many wineries in town that offer complimentary tastings and tours of their underground cellars and sometimes there are festivals in the main square (Piazza Grande). We had the good fortune to be here during the chocolate festival (early April)!. If you are thinking about taking Italian immersion, Il Sasso is THE place. I am already planning my next trip so that I can improve my Italian further.

Pamela & Bruce (USA)

08.11.2018

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at Il Sasso ... and had a great experience. The school is in the center of gorgeous Montepulciano, the instructors are energetic and knowledgeable and the focus is on student achievement no matter what your skill level. Spend a week or two and you'll find you visit to Italy truly rewarding.

Marie-Pierre (Francia)

02.11.2018

Le due settimane a Montepulciano erano molto interessante e gradevole. Il Sasso è una buona scuola di lingua per stranieri; i gruppi sono piccoli (6 studenti, fra 20-60 anni), le insegnante gentili (Costanza, Cinzia, Lucia) e l'atmosfera molto simpatica. I corsi, con grammatica, vocabolario, conversazione, ascolto ... e giochi, sono molto utili. E la Toscana è bellissima da visitare!

Sara (USA)

29.10.2018

Sono tornata recentemente dalla scuola Il Sasso a Montepulciano. Ho frequentato la scuola per una settimane nell'aula e una settimana per Italiano camminando, un corso speciale per camminare parlando in italiano. Il nostro insegnante, Alberto, é un insegnante molto bravo, amichevole e divertente. Ogni giorno il nostro gruppo ha camminato in campagna per imparare l'italiano in un ambiente informale. Siamo andati a piedi a Montefollonico, Monticchiello, Bagno Vignoni, Cantina Canneto e Parco Naturale di Pietraporciana. Il corso era molto divertente, valeva la pena farlo!

Lynna & Richard (USA)

15.10.2018

My wife and I spent a week at il Sasso in September 2018 and we have already decided to return for a month long course in 2019. When we started the course our Italian was very rudimentary but by the end of the week we could ask for fruits and vegetables in the market and use short phrases in restaurants. The class size was small (8 students) and the teachers (Costanza and Cinzia) were enthusiastic, encouraging and inclusive with all the students. They both made the course a lot of fun. They also recommended restaurants and bars in Montepulciano for much needed caffe' before class. We highly recommend il Sasso.

Susan (USA)

08.10.2018

I spent a week at Il Sasso, and I wish it could have been longer. The setting is ideal in a gorgeous hilltop town. The teachers were very pleasant and we had some fun while learning Italian, playing games in Italian. I enjoyed the whole experience very much and would go back again.

Marc (Svizzera)

25.08.2018

Il Sasso bietet mir genau das, was ich als Schule suche: - Ein dem eigenen Sprachniveau angepasster Unterricht in kleinen Klassen - Die Möglichkeit, am Nachmittag mit Einzelstunden die Ausbildung zu intensivieren - Ein abwechslungsreiches soziales, kulturelles Ergänzungsprogramm. - Der Kochkurs mit Lilli als einzigartiger kulinarischer Anlass, auch wenn ich am nächsten Tag nicht mehr in der Lage war, das Gelernte zu reproduzieren - Kleine familiäre Schule in einzigartiger Umgebung (Altstadt) - Äusserst sympathische Lehrerinnen (Alberto natürlich auch) mit einer Engelsgeduld Darum komme ich jedes Jahr wieder!

Mark & Shaunagh (Australia)

22.08.2018

In English, because most people wanting to go to Il Sasso probably don't yet have a great comprehension of Italian language? My partner and I decided to go to Il Sasso because (a) we had studied with another (Dante) organisation for some years and wanted to try something different, (b) wanted to go somewhere small (Montepulciano was our 'ideal' size to feel a part of a small community and (c) the school appeared to attract a slightly older clientele which suited our age bracket (>50). We stayed in 'Monte' for a little over two weeks and attended the school for those two weeks. The staff were great from Heike at 'Admin central' to all of the wonderful insegnante e direttore, we immediately felt welcome (but knew we were there to learn!). The extra curricular activities were diverse and generally well organised. Some were moderately expensive for what you received but that said we went on most and enjoyed them all - especially the historic walking tour of 'our town' Montepulciano and the visit to the nearby La Foce gardens. In addition to the fantastic food and wine of this region, we stayed in a wonderful AirBnB apartment overlooking prime Tuscan fields and olive groves and marked the hours of the day to the church bells which we still miss. Most of all we made some fantastic (hopefully lifelong) friends which enriched our stay and put the icing on the cake. We are already planning a return trip. Can't recommend Montepulciano as a destination, and Il Sasso as la scuola of choice, highly enough.

Alison (Inghilterra)

26.06.2018

In only a week, my Italian improved immeasurably. It was fun too, as the teachers were delightful and ensured that we talked about all sorts of subjects, however halting our Italian.

Wayne (USA)

21.06.2018

Recently, I received three weeks' excellent training in the Italian language at Il Sasso, a school for foreigners, in Montepulciano, Italy. During that time, I increased my Italian vocabulary manifold and had confirmed my notion that Italian grammar is very similar to Spanish grammar. My aim was to learn enough Italian to travel comfortably as a tourist in Italy, and that was accomplished in fine form. The staff of Il Sasso and the town of Montepulciano are both beautiful and a joy to interact with. Recien, me matricule por tres semanas en la Escuela Il Sasso en estudio del idioma italiano para estranjeros, en la ciudad de Montepulciano, en Italia. Durante ese tiempo, mi vocabulario italiano aumento bastante, y el curso me confirmo el entendimiento que la gramatica italiana seria muy semejante a la del espanol. Los que ya hablan espanol van a encontrar en el italiano una tarea mucho mas facilitada que la de los que no lo hablan. Aun mejor, hay varias profesoras de la escuela Il Sasso que tambien conocen el idioma espanol, y por eso le pueden ofrecer aun mas ayuda. Mi meta en matricularme en Il Sasso era de aprender el italiano bastante para poder viajar en Italia como turista sin incomodidad. Eso lo consegui estupendamente. Las del cuerpo docente y tambien la ciudad de Montepulciano son ambas bellisimas, y me dieron mucho placer en trabajar juntos. Ha pouco tempo atras, passei tres semanas matriculado na Escola Il Sasso do Italiano para Estrangeiros, em Montepulciano, na Italia. Durante aquele tempo, o meu vocabulario italiano aumento muito, e o curso confirmou o meu entendimento de que la gramatica italiana seria muito semelhante a do Portugues. Os que ja falam portugues vao descubrir que, com o italiano, a sua tarefa sera ja bem facilitada. Alem disso, saibam que varias das professoras do Il Sasso tambem conhecem o espanhol, o que facilitara muito a aprendizagem dos brasileiros e portugueses. (Infelizmente, nao encontrei nenhuma que fallasse portugues.) Mas, digo que a semelhanca entre o italiano e o portuges e notavel, do ponto de vista do vocabulario e da gramatica. Nas aulas, achei facil falar italiano so mudando a pronuncia das palavras portguesas, muitas palavras do qual eram identicas as do italiano. O meu alvo en estudar italiano era de aprender bastante para poder viajar em Italia como turista sem nenhuma inquietacao. Isso consegui com exito. As do corpo docente do Il Sasso y a cidade de Montepulciano sao todas as duas belezas. Eu tinha uma experiencia muito simpatica.

Joe (USA)

21.06.2018

I took a three-week course at Il Sasso (group lessons in the morning and a private one hour lesson in the afternoon). The staff were great and the class sizes were small. The teaching was excellent! Montepulciano is a beautiful Tuscan hill town, adding significantly to my overall experience. I will most definitely return to Montepulciano to go to Il Sasso again.

Karina (USA)

18.06.2018

This school is definitely the gem of Montepulciano and Tuscany. I was completely in awe of the level of classes here. They are well balanced with grammar, speaking and listening. As well as lots of interesting activities to make learning experience fun and efficient, like games, "field trip" to the local market to explore local produce and learn new words. Teachers are attentive, knowledgable, intelligent and fun! At this school you feel how much they care about what they do! It was completely enjoyable and unforgettable experience! Grazie mille - Silvia Celli, Cinzia Casagni, Sara Chierchini, Heike Wilms, Eleonora Vieri!

Amelia (USA)

08.06.2018

To first begin with a little bit about myself, I have previously studied four other languages: Latin, Ancient Greek, French, and German. In three weeks at Il Sasso, I learned as much as I did in one semester of German at an ivy league university. The teachers are amazing, enthusiastic, and you will absolutely be amazed at how much Italian you are able to pick up in one or more weeks. I definitely hope to come back and would encourage anyone to do it. A few words about the town, Montepulciano is absolutely beautiful and a wonderful place to spend a couple of weeks. There were people while I was there as young as 16, and as old as 70, the program really is appropriate for all ages!

Cathleen (USA)

29.05.2018

So many of us admire Italy for it's beauty, food and culture but when we travel there we look in as outsiders. My experience at Il Sasso made me feel at home in Montepulciano, which is a breathtakingly beautiful town in Tuscany. The faculty at the school are very warm and friendly and they are good teachers. We took a placement test and were put in classes with others of our ability. The morning class runs from 8:45-1 with two breaks. With the longer break the students go to a bar (coffee shop) across the street. The other students were from all over and were a nice mix of ages, although there were quite a few Americans, and everyone had fun together. I was only there for a week but I felt sad leaving my class because we really enjoyed each other. I made great progress in my Italian over the week and what was best was I stopped being shy about speaking. I also felt really comfortable in Montepulciano by the time I left. I'm already thinking about coming back next year.

Melinda (USA)

16.05.2018

I cannot recommend Il Sasso enough. It was the stuff dreams and memories are made of. I say that because, I dreamed of doing such a thing and acted upon the desire, then so many memories were made ... which are now part of my soul. All of that, may seem overly dramatic, however, I am a married 52 year old female with a full life at home. It was exciting to take time off for myself and do what I wanted. I was 4 weeks at school and an additional 2 weeks traveling. There are different levels, you are given a quick assessment and them placed in a class. There were different students coming and going each week. They came for 1 week, 2 weeks, 4-6 weeks and even for 3 months. The staff at Il Sasso are kind, patient, encouraging, warm, and helpful. They want you to succeed at learning ... and get as happy and excited (as you do yourself) ... when a "breakthrough" is made. We would have a grammar class and a conversation class. There was a little bit of homework (which I didn't always manage to complete before class). I also signed up for the private lessons, which could be done solo or with a second person. The private (solo) lessons helped me get over the hump/blockade that I had in learning Italian. I really was able to progress as the teacher assessed where I was having the trouble and then really worked on that (what a kind and Patient man Alberto was with me)!!! There are after school activities as also excursions offered to reinforce your learning. You are able to do as much or as little of the extracurricular activities as you would like. I had as much fun after school, as I did in school. If you come on your own and have concern about being lonely or unsafe - in my opinion ... there is not a problem with either here. So much to do, so much to see! I walked in the city at night (sometimes late) by myself with no bother at all. The picturesque town, the surrounding area, the history. I will never get enough. I plan on returning as soon as I possibly can.

Kay USA)

17.01.2018

What an exceptional experience as a Beginner student last fall, 2017 at Il Sasso. Costanza is an excellent instructor and made me feel comfortable every morning with our lessons. She helped create a learning environment that was stress free and fun. I am returning in early 2018 for more training and of course, enjoying exquisite Tuscany! If this is your first time to the area, consider staying in one of the peaceful and charming agriturismos that are nestled next to Montepulciano.

TOP