Mette (Norvegia)

Svært dykitige lærere! Hyggelige og imøtekommende personale! Fleksibilitet og engasjement! Undervisning og aktiviteter på skolen og i den flotte byen Montepulciano. Veldig kjekt og lærerikt.

20 marzo 2013
Serena (Svizzera)

I can only add on to the long line of students who have frequented and praised this school, but it is just such a good, unique school that praise it I must. I had been looking at schools for months, and had the intention of going further south, but this school kept coming up on my short-lists. I realised that it was not only one of the best in italy, but all the criteria I had fitted this school perfectly, and now having left Il Sasso I can certainly confirm that my experience could not have been more rewarding. The most important part of chosing a school is finding one that is recognised by professionals and appreciated by previous students. The quality of the teachers, and how they teach, will mean that your schooling is successful or not. At Il Sasso the teachers are undoubtedly extremely knowledgeable in communicating with foreign students, and this helps immensely when you arrive not speaking a word of their language. I was blessed with a fantastic teacher, Costanza, for 5 weeks, four of which I was alone in class. She is amazing, she speaks and explains clearly, she remembers things about your life outside of school, she encourages all sorts of questions, and when you feel you are getting to a difficult part, she motivates you and takes it at your speed. She couldn't do her job better than she does it already. she is the one who enabled me today to have a 30minute conversation in italian, when 5 weeks ago I couldn't say a single phrase! Amazing! However, don't dispair if you are given another teacher, I heard nothing but good of the others, and they are not only excellent teachers, but the sort of women you'd want as a sister or 'best friend', genuine people who only want the best for you. The organisation of a school, homestay and the day to day life of a foreigner in a town like montepulciano, only runs smoothly when you have a person like Heike in control. I had no problems during my five weeks, but she is the one who made my life easier behind the scene...

25 febbraio 2013
Teresa (Australia)

A dream it was, and a dream it is ... as it was only just the beginning of very fond memories that just keep flooding in. What can I say, that has not been said, for Il Sasso is a dream that you never want to end. From the first point of contact, to the very end, Il Sasso ensured all my needs were met. From Heike, Silvia, Sara and all the school, you will not find another that is such a jewel. They tick every box, and that is quite rare, because this school really does care. It took me a while to figure out which school I wanted to go, as I only had a week to give it a go. There was no doubts to have after my first point of call, as Heike was always there to answer my calls. If it wasn't for her, I'm not sure where I would have gone, as she makes your stay easy, with all that she does. And when I had an emergency, she knew how to respond, for this is what she does, she goes above and beyond. To add to my fortune of an unbelievable stay, Silvia and Sara were my teachers that blew me away. They had their own style, and I was totally amazed, as how much I learned within a day. And from what I can see, and from what everyone has said, this school is the best ... enough said. And then there was the accomodation, to add to the experience, with views to die during my tuscan experience. Politian is the name on everyone's tongue, as Giacomo and Maria just did so much. From my endless questions to the emergency one night, there is no doubt about it, they are one of a kind. So let me just say, after all I have said, it's only when you trial another and realise this school knocks them for dead. From their professionalism, ambedience, style and caring nature, your mind will not wonder when filling out another application. Because I just can't wait for my next adventure ...

31 gennaio 2013
Kim (USA)

Due to a recent job layoff, I was blessed with the rare opportunity to take 6 weeks off and study Italian in Tuscany. I chose Il Sasso due to the many glowing reviews here on Trip Advisor and now it's my turn to add one more. First, I must preface my review by saying that my situation was a bit different from most students in that I attended the school during a slow time of the year and after my first week there were not enough students at my level to have the normal 4 hours of group instruction, so I was switched to 2 hours of private instruction. This turned out to be ideal for me and I'm very glad Il Sasso offers this as an option! The teachers are excellent (I had Patrizia, Costanza and Sara) and the instruction is top notch! They really gear the lessons to your language level and interest. It may sound a little daunting to hear that all of the lessons are conducted in Italian, but it really is the best way to learn and you'll be surprised by how much you actually understand. My accommodation was a lovely little apartment within a minute walking distance (uphill!) to the school. It was small and cozy and really made me feel like I was part of the town and not just a visitor. Of course I can't forget the school's secretary Heike. She was of immense help both before and after my arrival in Montepulciano doing everything from arranging my housing to helping me make an appointment with the doctor when I got a nasty spider bite. The only thing I regret about my stay in Montepulciano (aside from the fact that I had to leave!) is that I went so late in the year. I was there from Nov 11 to Dec 22 and there were very few students. I think my experience would have been more enjoyable if I could have shared it with more people. Montepulciano is a beautiful town, but as a previous reviewer stated, be sure to bring comfortable shoes and get ready to walk some hills!

09 gennaio 2013
Alexis (USA)

I chose to go to a language immersion school by myself in the heart of Tuscany. I was pretty nervous making my way to Montepulciano not really knowing what to expect given I did not know any Italian (except a few words here and there I could remember from studying 20 years ago in school). The teachers and staff at Il Sasso were wonderful. I couldn't figure out how they would keep to only speaking Italian to a beginner like me and still be effective. But it worked really well and I learned a great deal. I had several teachers because I was there for 6 weeks but Cinzia and Sara were my core instructors and they are remarkable. Using stories, role-playing, real life examples, humor, pictures and lots of practice they fostered a fun and very effective learning environment. In addition, Heike, Alberto, Patrizia, Silvia and others were very attentive and organized outside the classroom. The apartments were close and comfortable and the actitivites after class were fun and informational. Montepulciano is beautiful and offers a relaxing environment to learn in - everyone in town knows the school well and is supportive that you are learning to speak Italian. Bring comfortable shoes to walk the hills as there are plenty of them!

14 novembre 2012
Alma (USA)

I have been to Il Sasso numerous times. Thanks to the teachers there, I am able to converse with Italians, read the paper and even make telephone reservations. My first time there, alone, as a beginner, I was extremely nervous. Within a week, I felt comfortable and at home. The school is well orgnanized, the apartments charming and the cultural acitivities fascinating. What I love about the school is the diversity and maturity of the students. I have meant people from all over the world that I am still in touch with. The greatest reward of all is when an Italian says "parla Italiano molto bene".

02 novembre 2012
Helen & Ira (USA)

We spent a week studying at Il Sasso. My husband and I have gone to other language schools during our many Italian trips. Il Sasso is by far the best. The quality of the instruction is very high - the teachers are skilled at weaving the class into a working whole, with everyone participating and enjoying the learning. Yes, there is homework every night, too, but not too much. The town is lovely even though there is not one flat street in the entire place (so plan accordingly for your shoes - my husband almost skateboarded around a corner before he changed out of leather-soled shoes). Some excellent restaurants, and within easy reach of many other lovely places to visit.

30 ottobre 2012
Carol (Australia)

Great teachers, private lessons are great as they will focus them on your particular level and needs.

24 agosto 2012
Pamela (Inghilterra)

I've just spent nearly three weeks at Il Sasso and can highly recommend it. The school is situated in the Centro Storico di Montepulciano, one of the most beautiful towns in Tuscany. Being of a certain age, I was relieved to find a mixture of ages and backgrounds. At break time everyone congregates at a little caffe near the school and we quickly bonded over a coffee, making plans to visit various places nearby and have dinner together. I made friends I will definitely keep in touch with. The standard of teaching is excellent especially bearing in mind that they have students of different age groups, different countries and cultures and with varying expectations. The teachers are also very warm and friendly and want to do their best for you. Many people return year after year which speaks for itself. It was one of the best experiences of my life.

24 agosto 2012
Joan (USA)

I stepped out of my safety zone and took off for Italy and a week of Italian classes at Il Sasso. I'm so glad I did. The instructors and the atmosphere at Il Sasso is wonderful. Everyone is very encouraging and the they make learning italian fun. I was by myself but in a small village like Montepulciano you are never alone. Every evening I ran into other students and we would socialize over a glad of wine. The apartments the school rents are wonderful and a bargain. Mine was a only one street over from the school and was tastefully decorated and large. The markets around Montepulciano have all the necessary staples you'll need for breakfast, lunch and dinner but I enjoyed going out for dinner each night.

02 luglio 2012